FOCC Header 4 Camb Old Cem credit SSW

www.SaveSouthwarkWoods.org.uk    |    savesouthwarkwoods@gmail.com    |    @southwarkwoods    |    Facebook Page Save Southwark Woods

Last night, residents’ campaign Save Southwark Woods made a heart-felt plea to save the magical Southwark Woods to a packed house, calling for a 100 ACRE WOOD in Central London.

 

That would be Camberwell Old and New Cemeteries, Nunhead Cemetery and One Tree Hill. But only If Southwark take their hands off Southwark Woods.

 

If not, Southwark’s legacy is likely to be one of betrayal of trust and the clearing of valuable natural woodland.

 

It was standing room only as the council revealed their plans. 6,000 new burial plots packed in on mostly woodland and virgin land, including digging up hundreds of old graves.

 

Southwark is the most polluted borough in the capital, with 100 early deaths last year from air pollution. These woods are the lungs of London.

 

There is no sensitivity in the council’s plans. Having denied residents a full Public Consultation, people were shocked to see the extent and the brutality of their plans. Chances are that when they’ve finished, sterile landscapes with row upon row of thousands of graves in a sanitised managed wooded area will be developed where magical wild woodlands once stood.

 

Save Southwark Woods begged the council to leave the woodlands as a contemplative place for scattering ashes, reflection and recovery from bereavement. They called for these beautiful woods to be made Local Nature Reserves, as Nunhead Cemetery is, to preserve it for nature and for people.

 

Very soon, Southwark will be applying for planning approval for this massive development. Comments are open until FRIDAY 20TH FEBRUARY - that's 8 days away. However, as this is merely public engagement, Southwark still does not have to take any notice of residents' opinions if they don't like them. As opposed to a Public Consultation where their actions MUST reflect the public's response.

 

One Tree Hill and Nunhead Cemetery are now both Local Nature Reserves that the council love to promote. Both were saved by public protest, as was Honor Oak recreation ground. Now it’s the battle for Southwark Woods!

400 Southwark residents have signed the paper petition so far and 2,600 people online. This is just the beginning. We will fight to save Southwark Woods - and we will win!

 

Please help Save Southwark Woods and write to the council with your protest:

 

Council Leader

Peter.John@southwark.gov.uk

 

Chief Executive

Eleanor.Kelly@southwark.gov.uk

 

Officers

Simon Bevan, Head of Planning, Rebecca Towers, Parks and Open Spaces Manager, Des Waters, Head of Public Realm:

Simon.Bevan@southwark.gov.uk

Rebecca.Towers@southwark.gov.uk

Des.Waters@southwark.gov.uk

 

Councillors

Cllr Darren Merrill Cabinet Member for Environment, Cllr Vicky Mills, Cllr Renata Hamvas, Cllr Gavin Edwards:

Darren.Merrill@southwark.gov.uk

Victoria.Mills@southwark.gov.uk

Renata.Hamvas@southwark.gov.uk

Gavin.Edwards@southwark.gov.uk

 

Local MP for Peckham and Camberwell Harriet Harman (Labour)

harmanh@parliament.uk

 

And copy us in too!

savesouthwarkwoods@gmail.com

Camberwell Old Cemetery woods by Save Southwark Woods

6 SAVE SOUTHWARK WOODS LOGO

Save our magical woodlands and make a 100 Acre Wood in Southwark

Press Release 4

12th February 2015

CONTACT CAMPAIGN CO-ORDINATORS

 

For more information and images:

 

Blanche Cameron: becameron@hotmail.co.uk 07731 304 966

Anne Stanesby: stanesbyanne@gmail.com 07847 390 398

 

Or:

savesouthwarkwoods@gmail.com